lettering for SOO’s 50’ double centered door boxcars - 2 ft ltrng
In September of 1940, the SOO received 100 double-door autocars from Pullman-Standard Car Company, Lot 5632, as Series 76000-76198 (even numbers only). At the same time SOO’s subsidiary Wisconsin Central received an additional 100 cars from Pullman-Standard Car Company, Lot 5646, as Series 175700-175898 (even numbers only). Note the WC in the upper left hand corner of the car denoting that this car series is assigned to subsidiary Wisconsin Central.
SOO’s double-door autocars were unique in that the double doors were centered rather than the left staggered positioning on autocars. (CGW was the only other road to also have centered doors) Cars were marked ‘AUTOMOBILE’ because of AAR lettering standards, however the cars were built for newsprint roll loading and staggered doors were actually a disadvantage for forklift loading large rolls.
Paint & Lettering: As delivered the cars were painted SOO’s oxide red: TCP-243 . Ends, underframe and truck side frames coated with black car cement. Between 1936 and 1945 the paint and lettering scheme displayed the white parallelogram emblem with the black background. Beginning in 1949 and through 1951, the black backgound was removed and the parallelogram was with white outlines only. This applies to all repaints during this period. Beginning in 1951, the SOO went to the 48“ high billboard lettering and the parallelogram was discontinued.
Footnote: The original Wisconsin Central (1893-1909) was leased by the MSt.P&SSM in 1909. The word ‘Sault” of Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault Ste. Marie, is pronounced “soo”, hence the road’s nickname which later became it’s legal name.
Decal set designed and created at Protocraft Decals
Background color shown above is not included in decal sheet